Good Morning, Ladbrokes: Nobel Betting Beyond Adonis and Nawal El Saadawi

Interesting information


This week, ArabLit is officially on #teamngugi. Yet it does seem strange that the betting agency Ladbrokes insists, year after year, that the two representatives of  Arabic literature in the Nobel betting pool should be Adonis (6:1) and Nawal El Saadawi (50:1):

nobelAccording to the memoir of pioneer translator Denys Johnson-Davies, Memories in Translation, the Syrian-French poet and critic Adonis was on the Nobel’s unofficial “Arabic” shortlist in 1988, along with Naguib Mahfouz (winner), Yusuf Idris (1927-1991), and Tayeb Salih (1929-2009).

Now, Johnson-Davies’ memories are unofficial: The only Arabophone author officially nominated for the Nobel — well, outside of Mahfouz — is Taha Hussein, first nominated in 1949.

There are others who could’ve been on the list: Pioneering playwright Saadallah Wannous (1941-1997); novelist and playwright Kateb Yacine (1929-1989), who wrote primarily in French, but also in Arabic and Tamazight; novelist Abdulrahman Munif (1933-2004).

In any case, Adonis was on the list in…

View original post 756 more words


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s